Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Windows Vista Biz: How To Enable Administrator Account

To change user to Administrator, here is how to do it:
You will need to change the security policy.

1. Navigate to: Control Panel >Administrative Tools >
Local Security >Local Policies>Security Options>
Accounts: Administrator Account Status
2.Right click on Accounts: Administrator Account
Status and select Properties.
The Properties window will be launched.
3.Select ‘Enabled’>Apply the settings and click ‘OK’.

Doing this will allow you to login as the Administrator.
Although, adding yourself to the Administrators group should
have the same effect as logging in as Administrator. But
that is not always the case with Windows Vista

Windows Vista Biz: Windows Office 2003 End-User License Agreement Keep Popping Up Even After selecting 'Accepted'

CAUSE
This behavior occurs if your user account does not have
permissions to modify the Microsoft Windows Registry.

RESOLUTION
To resolve this behavior, follow these steps:
1.Log on to the computer by using a user account that
has administrative credentials. In some cases, you
will have to log-in as Administrator.
2.Start an Office program, such as Word. The End User
License Agreement dialog box appears.

Note:For Windows Vista, click Start, click All Programs,
click Microsoft Office, right-click an Office program,
click Run as administrator, and then click Continue.

3. Click I Accept.
4. Exit the Office program that you just started.
5. Log-in to your profile and re-launch Microsoft
Office. The license agreement profile will not
launch again.

Note:
By default, the Administrator account is disable if you
have given a user with Administrator rights. I will post
in my next blog on how to enable this.

Monday, October 20, 2008

Graphic Not Shown On Printout From Word Doc

You may also get the message 'Embed PaintBrush' in the location
where the picture file suppose to be.

What happened?
By pasting in from Paint, you have embedded editable objects into
the Worddocument. You really don't want to do this (huge file
sizes and potentialfor corruption). The file is open for editing
and has not been formatted for the appropriate application yet.

The originator for the file should have done this:
Instead, save the screen shot to a file and use Insert >
Picture > From File.

To convert the file that has not been formatted, you may do this:
To convert the objects that are already there, selectand use Ctrl-Shift-F9